Oct 1, 2014
Home| Tools| Events| Blogs| Discussions Sign UpLogin

Dairy Today Readers Respond

RSS By: Dairy Today editors, Dairy Today

Thoughts and comments from Dairy Today readers.

Why Are There Five Classifications of Milk?

Apr 16, 2013

To the editors at Agweb:

We are writing to ask why there are classifications of milk, one through five. This was set up back in the ice age, when you cut the ice off of the ponds, and the cans of milk were cooled that way.

Milk products that you buy in the store are all listed as grade A...printed on the side of the product. It doesn’t matter whether it is fluid milk, sour cream, butter, cottage cheese, hard cheese, or yogurt. It is all classified as grade A. The NY State Dept. of Agriculture doesn’t need to take money out of our milk check just to keep the fat cats warm or cool in their offices.

The Chicago Market Exchange, or the Boston Milk Market are not needed. They just take money from our farmers’ pockets.

Thank you.
John and Jan Frederick
Frederick Farms
2090 McBurney Rd.
Clifton Springs, NY 14432
(315) 548-2515

Log In or Sign Up to comment


No comments have been posted, be the first one to comment.
The Home Page of Agriculture
© 2014 Farm Journal, Inc. All Rights Reserved|Web site design and development by AmericanEagle.com|Site Map|Privacy Policy|Terms & Conditions