2013 Tractor of the Year Announced

November 7, 2012 09:00 AM
2013 Tractor of the Year Announced

The 2013 Tractor of the Year prize has been awarded to the Deutz-Fahr Agrotron 7250 TTV. A group of European journalists evaluates the nominees and reviews them under field conditions. 

Italian magazine TRATTORI developed the prize, which was awarded for the first time in 1998. The publication covers tractors and agricultural machinery. Past winners have included the John Deere 7280 R and the Fendt 828 Vario.

The 7250 Agrotron TTV includes:

  • 263 hp
  • Three PTO speeds (540E/1000/1000E) with electrohydraulic control, load detection and proportional startup
  • Deutz TCD 4-valve turbodiesel 6.1 L6 Tier 4 Interim engines with AdBlue exhaust treatment
  • Deutz-Fahr TTV stepless transmission
  • Top speed of 37 mph, or 31 mph with an engine speed of 1650 rpm
  • Class S2 cab with a multifunction armrest that houses all tractor controls, larger iMonitor display, lighting control panel, main seat and passenger seat, one-piece windscreen and an automatic climate control system
  • Advanced Powerbrake braking system, including an electronic parking brake with intelligent braking function


The Same Deutz-Fahr group is based in northern Italy and manufactures tractors, combine harvesters, engines and other agricultural machinery. 

In an email interview, Tractor of the Year chairman Fabio Zammaretti explained the competition and its history, and shared some thoughts about the winning tractor.

Briefly describe the history of the Tractor of the Year competition. How did it begin, and how did it become the standard-bearer for identifying the world’s top tractor each year?

The Tractor of the Year was born 16 years ago by an idea of the Italian magazine TRATTORI, (monthly magazine about tractors and agricultural machineries, published by Vado e Torno publishing house).

From the beginning, we wanted to involve all the most representative magazines of Europe, and year after year we became a group of 23 jury members, from 23 different countries representative of the main agricultural magazines and editorial projects. For these reasons and for such a large number of jury members representative of the different local markets, the awarding became one the most important international recognitions, also because there are not commercial logics behind the awarding, it is and it will be a technical prize.

How many manufacturers entered this year’s competition for the Tractor of the Year award?

Every year, the jury selects the finalists for the two categories: Tractor of the Year (open field tractors) and Best of Specialized (orchard and vineyard). The finalists can be maximum seven for each categories. This year the jury selected seven models for the Tractor of the Year and six models for the Best of Specialized. We also award the best design with the "Golden Tractor for the Design" chosen between the finalists for the category of Tractor of the Year. 

The prize is totally free of any charge for the manufacturers. We are very proud that the prize is totally free for the manufacturers. The only restrictive rule that we have is that the winning tractor cannot participate to the next edition. The finalists have to be on production within Sept. 15 of the awarding year.

Why did the Deutz-Fahr Agrotron 7250 Ttv win this year’s competition? What specific features stood out?

This year, as in the past, the winner was the one who had the best score in the voting subjects, that are: Engine, Transmission, Electronic, Hydraulics, Cab comfort, Innovative technical features (ex. suspended axels), Optionals, Design, ratio Price/HP. The voting comes from a depth work of each jury member that had the chance to test each single finalist.

How have tractors changed in the time that this competition has been held? What changes do you anticipate to tractor design and performance in the coming decade?

Well in few words, we can say that from the early days, tractors became more advanced in terms of technology. They switch from mechanical gear to the modern stepless transmission (CVT). Engines, due to the pollutions rules, became more "green," powerful and performing. The design and the cab comfort became one of the main issue for the manufactures. For the future, we can say that the GPS technology will be fundamental for all kinds of farms.

Talk about the Best of Specialized and Golden Tractor for the Design awards. Who were the candidates? Who won, and why?

The best of Specialized is dedicated to tractors for orchard and vineyard, the best score this year is for New Holland T4060F it won among other five finalists and they are: Antonio Carraro SRH 9800, Massey Ferguson 3660S, Same Frutteto3 110, Goldoni Ronin 50, Kubota 8540 DNTQ.

The winner for the Golden Tractor for the Design this year is the same for the Tractor of the Year Deutz-Fahr Agrotron 7250 TTV.  In terms of design, it was very important the contribution of ItalianDesign (aka Giugiaro), who was responsible for the look the style and the ergonomic controls.

What other comments would you like to make?

I really would like to underscore that being in the finalist list means to be at the top of the market. Being in the finalist list is already a win.

Back to news


Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article