2015 Dairy Cow College Dates Set

 
2015 Dairy Cow College Dates Set

The Dairy Cow College will be held in four locations in February.

The causes and risk factors for milk fat depression will be one of the topics covered in the 2015 Dairy Cow College program.

Dairy Cow College is a collaborative educational effort of the North Dakota State University Extension Service and Midwest Dairy Association in cooperation with the NDSU Animal Sciences Department and the Extension offices in Barnes, Dunn, Emmons, McIntosh, Morton, Oliver, Stark/Billings and Stutsman counties.

It will be held at four locations in early February. The dates, locations and information on the Extension agents to contact for more information are:

  • Feb. 2 - KEM Electric Cooperative, 107 S. Broadway, Linton; Kelsie Egeland, Emmons County, (701) 254-4811, kelsie.egeland.2@ndsu.edu or Crystal Schaunaman, McIntosh County, (701) 288-3465, crystal.schaunaman@ndsu.edu
  • Feb. 3 - Ramada Grand Dakota Lodge, 32 15th St. W., Dickinson; Kurt Froelich, Stark/Billings County, (701) 456-7665, kurt.froelich@ndsu.edu or Becky Buchmann, Dunn County, (701) 764-5593, becky.buchmann@ndsu.edu
  • Feb. 4 - Youth Building, Morton County Fairgrounds, New Salem; Jackie Buckley, Morton County, (701) 667-3340, jackie.buckley@ndsu.edu or Rick Schmidt, Oliver County, (701) 794-8748, rick.schmidt@ndsu.edu
  • Feb. 5 - AgCounty Farm Credit Services, 220 Winter Show Road S.W., Valley City; Randy Grueneich, Barnes County, (701) 845-8528, randy.grueneich@ndsu.edu or Alicia Harstad, Stutsman County, (701) 252-9030, alicia.harstad@ndsu.edu

Each will begin with registration and coffee at 10:30 a.m. The program will run from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. local time.

Other topics that will be covered include:

  • Managing Rumensin levels
  • Navigating the dry and fresh periods to achieve a successful transition
  • Consequences of a negative energy balance and immune suppression
  • The veterinary feed directive’s effect on dairy enterprises

In addition, participants will receive dairy checkoff highlights, learn about other dairy production and management topics, participate in a dairy issues dialogue and attend local district milk producers’ association meetings.

J.W. Schroeder, NDSU Extension dairy specialist, and David Carlson, a dairy technical consultant with Elanco Animal Health, will be the presenters.

For more information, contact Schroeder at (701) 231-7663 or jw.schroeder@ndsu.edu.

Source: NDSU Extension

Back to news


 

Comments

 
Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article

Corn College TV Education Series

2014_Team_Shot_with_Logo

Get nearly 8 hours of educational video with Farm Journal's top agronomists. Produced in the field and neatly organized by topic, from spring prep to post-harvest. Order now!

Markets

Market Data provided by QTInfo.com
Brought to you by Beyer
Close