2018 Swine Veterinary Scholarship Recipients Announced

March 6, 2018 04:00 AM
Summary: Merck Animal Health announced the recipients of the 2018 Swine Veterinary Scholarships at the 2018 meeting of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians.

The American Association of Swine Veterinarians Foundation (AASVF), in partnership with Merck Animal Health, announced the 2018 recipients of the AASVF/Merck Animal Health Veterinary Student Scholarships. The announcement took place this week at the annual meeting of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians.

“Merck Animal Health recognizes that student debt is a concern for many veterinary students and is committed to helping ease this burden so veterinarians can focus on the optimal health of the animals in their care now and in the years to come,” said Joseph Roder, D.V.M., Director of Swine Technical Services, Merck Animal Health, in a news release from the company. “Through this program, we are reinforcing our long-standing commitment to the science of healthier animals and to the people who will help preserve that vision in the future.”

“It is great when a company like Merck Animal Health places value on supporting veterinary students pursuing a career in swine medicine and production,” said Tom Burkgren, D.V.M., AASV Executive Director, in the release, adding that elevating the AASVF’s mission of developing veterinary students is an important priority.

The recipients, who will each receive a $5,000 scholarship, are:

Jacob Baker, Iowa State University

Kimberlee Baker, Iowa State University

Rachel Bardot, University of Missouri

Stephanie Betbeze, Lincoln Memorial University

Megan Bloemer, University of Illinois

Kayla Henness, University of Illinois

Evan Koep, Iowa State University

Marjorie Schleper, University of Minnesota

Joel Steckelberg, Iowa State University

Jonathan Tubbs, Auburn University

Second-and third-year students enrolled in American Veterinary Medical Association-accredited or recognized colleges of veterinary medicine in the U.S., Canada, Mexico, South America and the Caribbean Islands are eligible. Learn more at www.aasv.org.

Back to news


Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article