Alabama Gets Federal Disaster Designation for Damaged Crops

December 13, 2015 05:00 PM
Alabama Gets Federal Disaster Designation for Damaged Crops

Gov. Robert Bentley says farmers in 25 Alabama counties are eligible for emergency loans.

Bentley announced in an email Thursday that the United State Department of Agriculture approved the counties Secretarial Natural Disaster Designation. It will allow farmers to be considered for help from the USDA-Farm Service Agency.

Excessive rainfall, wind and flooding this year prompted the USDA designation. The severe weather caused extensive damage to many crops during the 2015 growing season.

Bentley sent a letter to agriculture secretary Thomas Vilsack on Nov. 12 asking for the assistance. Vilsack designated 13 counties as primary natural disaster areas with 12 contiguous counties.

The counties include Baldwin, Barbour, Butler, Bullock, Chambers, Coffee, Conecuh, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Elmore, Escambia, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Lee, Lowndes, Macon, Monroe, Montgomery, Pike, Randolph, Russell, Tallapoosa and Wilcox.

Back to news




Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article

Corn College TV Education Series


Get nearly 8 hours of educational video with Farm Journal's top agronomists. Produced in the field and neatly organized by topic, from spring prep to post-harvest. Order now!


Market Data provided by
Brought to you by Beyer