Beef Industry Group Addresses Joint Committee Structure

February 7, 2012 07:57 PM

The Federation of State Beef Councils, a division of the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association (NCBA), elected officers and discussed key organizational structure during its board meeting Feb. 4, at the 2012 Cattle Industry Convention and NCBA Trade show in Nashville, Tenn.

Discussed in the convention Federation Forum was a proposal that would alter the Joint Committee structure between NCBA and the Cattlemen’s Beef Board (CBB). The proposal, which was approved by the CBB and NCBA during the convention, outlines how joint checkoff committees will function.  A second, more detailed proposal is set to be discussed at the summer 2012 conference in Denver.

Elected 2012-13 Federation chairman was Craig Uden, a cow-calf producer and feeder from Elwood, Neb. Richard Gebhart, a Claremore, Okla., cattleman, was elected vice chairman. Uden, who served as Federation vice chairman last year, succeeds David Dick, a cow-calf operator from Sedalia, Mo.
Newly elected to represent the Federation as regional vice presidents on the NCBA executive committee are Garry Wiley, Mich., Region I; Clay Burtrum, Okla., Region IV; and Sid Viebrock, Wash., Region V. They join the existing RVPs: Jennifer Houston, Tenn., Region II; Terri Carstensen, Iowa, Region III; Jane Frost, N.M., Region VI; and Becky Walth, S.D., Region VII. Richard Ayers, a veal producer from Argyle, N.Y., replaces Ray Krones, Indiana, as the Federation’s veal representative to the executive committee.
The Federation also approved eight of its 10 representatives to the Beef Promotion Operating Committee (BPOC), which decides the final national checkoff program plan each year. As Federation chair and vice chair, who are standing BPOC members, Uden and Gebhart will serve, as well as 2012 Federation representatives Jerry Bohn, Kan.; Jerry Effertz, N.D.; Steve Hanson, Neb.; Cevin Jones, Idaho; Irv Petsch, Wyo.; Linda Joy Stovall, Texas; Sid Viebrock, Wash.; and Becky Walth, S.D.
The Federation named its FY 2012 Federation Advisory Council (FAC), comprised of state beef council executives who advise the Federation on a variety of issues and initiatives. New FAC members include Traci Bracco, Idaho; Elizabeth Harsh, Ohio; Heather Buckmaster, Okla.; and Kevin Thielen, Kan., who was also chosen as 2012 FAC vice chairman.  They join the existing FAC members: Ann Wittmann, Wyo., 2012 FAC chairman; Sammy Blossom, Miss.; Jim Handley, Fla; Dina Reitzel Chacon, N.M.; and Richard Wortham, Texas, immediate past chairman. 


Back to news



Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article

Corn College TV Education Series


Get nearly 8 hours of educational video with Farm Journal's top agronomists. Produced in the field and neatly organized by topic, from spring prep to post-harvest. Order now!


Market Data provided by
Brought to you by Beyer