Drought Declaration Rescinded in Kansas

January 9, 2019 12:40 PM
In his final Executive Order, Gov. Jeff Colyer has rescinded a drought declaration for 55 counties in Kansas after the state has received much needed moisture.

The Governor of Kansas has rescinded a drought declaration that was made in September 2018 after the state received much needed moisture in the past few months.

On Jan. 8, Gov. Jeff Colyer issued his final Executive Order prior to leaving office next week by rescinding the declaration he made in the fall. During September, Colyer had downgraded the drought declaration to 55 counties in the eastern half of the state. Earlier in the summer the emergency designation included 72 counties

“Moisture conditions across Kansas have improved such that no portion of the state remains under any level of drought conditions,” says Colyer. “Kansas farmers and ranchers will enter the 2019 planting and grazing seasons with adequate moisture.”

The designation of drought emergency means counties are eligible for emergency use of water from certain state fishing lakes. They also become eligible for water in some Federal reservoirs. 

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, there are no areas of Kansas experiencing any drought or dryness. The current moisture status in Kansas is a stark contrast to the same time last year when the entire state was experiencing dryness and 32.7% of the state was in Moderate Drought. 

The following 50 counties were previously deemed Drought Emergency counties:

  • Anderson
  • Atchison
  • Bourbon
  • Brown
  • Butler
  • Chase
  • Cherokee
  • Clay
  • Coffey
  • Cowley
  • Crawford
  • Dickinson
  • Donip​han
  • Douglas
  • Ellsworth
  • Franklin
  • Geary
  • Greenwood
  • Harper
  • Harvey
  • Jackson
  • Jefferson​
  • Johnson
  • Kingman
  • Labette
  • Leavenworth
  • Lincoln
  • Linn
  • Lyon
  • Marion
  • Marshall
  • McPherson
  • Miami
  • Montgomery
  • Morris
  • Nemaha
  • Neosho
  • Osage
  • Ottawa
  • Pottawatomie
  • Ren​o
  • Rice
  • Riley
  • Saline
  • Sedgwick
  • Shawnee
  • Sumner
  • Wabaunsee
  • Washington
  • Wyandotte

The following five counties were previously deemed Drought Watch counties:

  • Allen
  • Chautauqua
  • Elk
  • Wilson
  • Woodson
Back to news


Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article

Corn College TV Education Series


Get nearly 8 hours of educational video with Farm Journal's top agronomists. Produced in the field and neatly organized by topic, from spring prep to post-harvest. Order now!


Market Data provided by QTInfo.com
Brought to you by Beyer