Drought Disaster Declaration Extended to 19 Montana Counties

September 9, 2015 06:11 AM

Four more Montana counties have been designated as primary natural disaster areas due to crop losses caused by drought.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture added Jefferson, Madison, Teton and Toole counties, bringing to 19 the total number of Montana counties declared natural disaster areas.

On July 15, U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Thomas Vilsack designated Beaverhead, Deer Lodge, Flathead, Glacier, Granite, Lake, Lewis and Clark, Lincoln, Mineral, Missoula, Pondera, Powell, Ravalli, Sanders and Silver Bow counties as primary natural disaster areas.

The Great Falls Tribune reports that the federal disaster designation opens the door for qualified farmers and ranchers to obtain emergency loans through the Farm Service Agency. Farmers and ranchers in 11 additional contiguous counties may also be eligible for emergency loans.

Back to news



Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article

Corn College TV Education Series


Get nearly 8 hours of educational video with Farm Journal's top agronomists. Produced in the field and neatly organized by topic, from spring prep to post-harvest. Order now!


Market Data provided by QTInfo.com
Brought to you by Beyer