Drought-stricken Upstate NY Farmers Get OK for Federal Aid

August 30, 2016 05:54 PM

Federal agriculture officials have declared 15 upstate New York counties as "primary natural disaster areas" because of this summer's drought.

Sen. Charles Schumer says low-interest loans and other U.S. Department of Agriculture programs will be available to farmers who suffer losses because of the weather.

He says Tuesday that should ease concerns among operators of farms, vineyards, and orchards that they won't have the cash to recover from crop losses.

The USDA declaration covers the counties of Cayuga, Chemung, Erie, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Ontario, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Wyoming and Yates.

Because they neighbor the declaration area, Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Cortland, Onondaga, Orleans, Oswego and Wayne counties also qualify for assistance.

Back to news



Spell Check

Clover Gleason
Redwood, NY
8/31/2016 09:15 PM

  What about Jefferson County? We have farmers throughout this county that have very poor if any crops due to the drought! Corn crops are dying and most farmers did not even get a second cutting on hay. We in Redwood finally just got some much needed rain today - first since June.


Corn College TV Education Series


Get nearly 8 hours of educational video with Farm Journal's top agronomists. Produced in the field and neatly organized by topic, from spring prep to post-harvest. Order now!


Market Data provided by QTInfo.com
Brought to you by Beyer