Georgia Farmers Hurt by Drought Eligible for Loans

September 30, 2016 09:45 AM
Georgia Farmers Hurt by Drought Eligible for Loans

Federal authorities say Georgia farmers can apply for low-interest emergency loans to help cover some of their losses caused by a recent drought.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture announced Thursday that nine of state's counties were designated as primary natural disaster area due to losses caused by extreme drought conditions earlier this month. Those counties include Baldwin, Houston, Taliaferro, Bibb, Jones, Twiggs, Hancock, Peach and Wilkinson.

Farmers in 17 Georgia counties are also allowed to apply for loans because they are contiguous with the declared disaster area. Those counties include Bleckley, Jasper, Monroe, Taylor, Crawford, Johnson, Oglethorpe, Warren, Dooly, Laurens, Pulaski, Washington, Glascock, Macon, Putnam, Wilkes and Greene.

Back to news



Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article

Corn College TV Education Series


Get nearly 8 hours of educational video with Farm Journal's top agronomists. Produced in the field and neatly organized by topic, from spring prep to post-harvest. Order now!


Market Data provided by
Brought to you by Beyer