ICA Recognizes 2015 Young Cattlemen's Leadership Program Participants and Names 2016 Class

December 17, 2015 02:23 PM

Seventeen young Iowa cattle producers from around the state participated in the 2015 Young Cattlemen’s Leadership Program (YCLP). The Iowa Cattlemen’s Association program is consists of a series of educational sessions designed to develop leadership qualities in young cattle farmers. The group met four times, focusing on leadership strategies, policy development, production practices and legislative advocacy.

2015 participants include:

  • Andrew Sauer, Cedar County
  • Brad Evans, Lucas County
  • Brandon Ledger, Lee County
  • Carrie & Nate Horman, Story County
  • Dustin Howell, Louisa County
  • Ethon Smith, Fremont County
  • Greg Bartelma, Jasper County
  • Jeff Van Voorst, Sioux County
  • Joe Brewer, Dallas County
  • Justin Sullivan, Madison County
  • Matt Winters, Clayton County
  • Nick Knepper, Delaware County
  • Skylar Speer, Madison County
  • Josh Zuck, Fayette County
  • Jeff Jamison, Clarke County
  • Cassie Johnson, Woodbury County

The YCLP class also helps develop and employ the Iowa Cattlemen’s Association’s Carcass Challenge. We commend this year’s YCLP class for their recruitment efforts. Earlier in November, 55 head of feeder steers were delivered to Amana Farms. The proceeds from the Carcass Challenge will be used to fund educational programming, leadership development, and advocacy trainings for cattle producers.

The 2016 YCLP class has also been named, and will meet for the first time in January.

2016 participants include:

  • Aarik Deering, Allamakee County
  • Ashlee Bell, Scott County
  • Brett Wiggins, Jasper County
  • Clayton Hester, Mahaska County
  • Dane Kuper, Mitchell County
  • Darrin Crawley, Guthrie County
  • Dillon Green, Sioux County
  • Drew Van Laar, Madison County
  • Dustin Balsley , Mitchell County
  • Haley Pagel, Fayette County
  • Josh Wiig, Montgomery County
  • Justin Mendenhall, Decatur County
  • Kellie Gregorich, Jackson County
  • Kellin Chambers, Pottawattamie County
  • Matt Groves, Cass County
  • Melinda Brahms, County Cass
  • Nick Andresen, Ida County
  • Ron Lyon Jr, Madison County
  • Ryan Carlson, Boone County
  • Sara Shepherd, Adair County
  • Scott Cherne, Clayton County
  • Skyler Rinker, Boone County
  • Tanner Deering, Allamakee County
  • Will Longinaker, Fremont County

Source: Iowa Cattlemen's Association

Back to news



Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article