New Fluid Milk Board Members Named

November 29, 2009 06:00 PM
Secretary of Agriculture Thomas J. Vilsack today announced the appointment of two members to the National Fluid Milk Processor Promotion Board.

 Newly appointed are Christopher S. Ross, Beverly, Mass. (Region 2) and Michael A. Bell, San Antonio, Texas (Region 8). They will serve terms beginning immediately and expiring June 30, 2011. Both will be seated at the board meeting Jan. 15-17, 2010.
The National Fluid Milk Processor Promotion Board is composed of 15 fluid milk processors from 15 geographic regions and five at-large members. At least three at-large members must be fluid milk processors and at least one must be from the general public. The board was established by the Fluid Milk Promotion Act of 1990 to develop and administer a coordinated program of advertising and promotion to increase the demand for fluid milk products.
The national fluid milk program is financed by a mandatory 20¢/cwt assessment on all fluid milk processed and marketed commercially in consumer-type packages in the contiguous 48 states and the District of Columbia. Processors who commercially process and market 3 million pounds or less per month, excluding those fluid milk products delivered to the residence of a consumer, are exempt from assessments.
USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors the operations of the board. It is USDA's policy that membership on industry-governed boards and committees accurately reflect the diversity of individuals served by the program.
November 24, 2009

Back to news



Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article

Corn College TV Education Series


Get nearly 8 hours of educational video with Farm Journal's top agronomists. Produced in the field and neatly organized by topic, from spring prep to post-harvest. Order now!


Market Data provided by
Brought to you by Beyer