Next Senate Ag Committee Chair Named

03:57PM Nov 19, 2010
( )

U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) has been tapped to become the next Chair of the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry.

Stabenow will be succeeding Blanche Lincoln, a Democrat from Arkansas.
“I am ready to lead the Senate Agriculture Committee in the 112th Congress. Agriculture is critical to Michigan’s economy, employing a quarter of our workforce. Not only does agriculture create jobs and feed our families across America, but it is also helping us develop new fuels and energy sources,” Stabenow states.
“I look forward to working with my colleagues on both sides of the aisle, as we begin writing a new farm bill that once again recognizes the importance of America’s agricultural economy and rural communities.”
Stabenow, 60, was elected to the Senate in 2000. Senator Stabenow has served on the Agriculture committees in the Michigan legislature, U.S. House of Representatives and currently the U.S. Senate. 

For More Information

Visit Stabenow's official site.