RMA Clarifies Prevent Planting Standards in Prairie Pothole Region

August 26, 2013 09:20 AM

To qualify for prevented planting in the Prairie Pothole National Priority Area, acreage must have been "planted and harvested (or incurred an insurable loss other than for excess moisture) in at least one out of the last four years, regardless of whether any of those years was abnormally dry," according to a new special provision statement from USDA's Risk Management Agency (RMA).

This special provision is intended to clarify what acreage is eligible for prevented planting in the region, which includes areas of Iowa, Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota and South Dakota.

The new provision applies to prevented planting and acreage for the 2014 crop and succeeding years in the Prairie Pothole region.

The statement was developed by RMA in response to recommendations made by crop insurance companies, the USDA Office of Inspector General, and producers in the Prairie Pothole regions.

To be eligible for a prevented planting payment, a cause of loss that prevented planting must have occurred within the prevented planting insurance period for both new and carry over policies. For more information, producers should contact their crop insurance agents.

Back to news


Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article

Corn College TV Education Series


Get nearly 8 hours of educational video with Farm Journal's top agronomists. Produced in the field and neatly organized by topic, from spring prep to post-harvest. Order now!


Market Data provided by QTInfo.com
Brought to you by Beyer