Senate Appoints Farm Bill Conferees

August 1, 2018 05:37 PM
Today the Senate voted to move forward with the 2018 Farm Bill Conference.

Today the Senate voted to move forward with the 2018 Farm Bill Conference, naming the following Senators to serve on the Committee:

Chairman Pat Roberts, R-Kan.

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, R-Ky.

Sen. John Boozman, R-Ark.

Sen. John Hoeven, R-N.D.

Sen. Joni Ernst, R-Iowa

Ranking Member Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich.

Sen. Patrick Leahy, D-Vt.

Sen. Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio

Sen. Heidi Heitkamp, D-N.D.


Grain producing states are strongly represented by the group, which in a rare occurrence, includes both Senators from North Dakota. The inclusion of the Senate majority leader on the panel underscores his McConnell’s commitment to get a conferenced bill to the House and Senate floor shortly after Labor Day and ahead of the November midterm election.

 “This strong group of Senate conferees knows how to work together on a bipartisan basis to get the Farm Bill across the finish line,” said Roberts and Stabenow in a statement. “We look forward to beginning the conference process, so we can provide certainty to our farmers, families, and rural communities.”

On June 28, 2018, the U.S. Senate passed the 2018 Farm Bill on a strong bipartisan 86-11 vote.

The Conference Committee will be composed of members of the U.S. House and Senate. The House announced their conferees earlier this month. The conference committee is expected to begin meeting on a harmonized farm bill late this month.

Back to news


Spell Check

Lubbock , TX
8/2/2018 08:17 PM

  Call it what it is, a welfare bill.