Senate Names Farm Bill Conferees

October 1, 2013 10:53 AM

The Senate took another baby step toward farm bill completion today as the chamber requested conference with the House to work out the differences on the Federal Agriculture Reform and Risk Management Act of 2013 (FARM Act) and it authorized the Chair to appoint conferees with a ratio of 7:5 on the part of the Senate. The following senators were appointed conferees:

  • Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.)
  • Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.)
  • Tom Harkin (D-Iowa)
  • Max Baucus (D-Mont.)
  • Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio)
  • Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.)
  • Michael Bennet (D-Colo.)
  • Thad Cochran (R-Miss.)
  • Saxby Chambliss (R-Ga.)
  • Pat Roberts (R-Kan.)
  • John Boozman (R-Ark.)
  • John Hoeven (R-N.D.)


Last week the House Rules Committee approved a provision combining the House-passed nutrition bill with the ag-only farm bill so they can be considered together in conference. The House has not yet appointed conferees.


Back to news


Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article

Corn College TV Education Series


Get nearly 8 hours of educational video with Farm Journal's top agronomists. Produced in the field and neatly organized by topic, from spring prep to post-harvest. Order now!


Market Data provided by
Brought to you by Beyer