Top Producer Seminar Sets Attendance Record

January 26, 2010 06:00 PM

The nation's most profitable farmers are in Chicago this week to attend the 14th annual Top Producer Seminar. More than 660 attendees are registered for the event, marking the fourth straight year of record attendance. Seminar topics range from commodity marketing to business planning, as well as investment opportunities in the agricultural industry.
"This level of producer clearly understands that farming is a business and they want information to help them be the most profitable producers in the country and the best producers in the world,” said former TOP PRODUCER Editor Greg Vincent, recently promoted to editor of Farm Journal Media's Web site.
The Top Producer Seminar starts today, Wednesday, Jan. 27, and continues through Friday, Jan. 29. Along with outstanding speakers and breakout session topics, the annual Top Producer of the Year winner will be announced at a Thursday evening, Jan. 28, awards dinner.
Finalists for this year's Top Producer of the Year award are:
  • Schmidt Farms, Sudlersville, Md.
  • DeLine Farms, Charleston, Mo.
  • Hudye Farms U.S. Inc., Burlington, Colo.
In addition to the Top Producer Seminar, the second annual Young Farmer Program was held Tuesday, Jan. 26. New TOP PRODUCER Editor Jeanne Bernick led the program, which is designed to introduce young and beginning farmers to the business of farming. Registrations doubled for this year's program from its inaugural event in 2009.
"The enthusiasm for agriculture shown by young producers at this event is contagious,” says Bernick. "We're thrilled to provide a venue for education and networking for the next generation of top producers.”

Premier Sponsors of the 2010 Top Producer are: AgriGold, Agrotain, Asgrow, AutoFarm, Bayer CropScience, Challenger, Pioneer Hi-Bred and SFP. Co-Sponsors are: Cargill, Carhartt, EMD Crop Bio Science Inc., Integris/Opi Systems, Kennedy and Coe, MANA Crop Protection, Michelin, Rabobank, Top Third Marketing and Water Street Solutions. The Top Producer of the Year award is again sponsored by Challenger and co-sponsored by Bayer CropScience. The TOP PRODUCER Young Farmer Program was sponsored by Agrotain, Bayer CropScience, Cargill and Pioneer Hi-Bred.

Back to news


Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article

Corn College TV Education Series


Get nearly 8 hours of educational video with Farm Journal's top agronomists. Produced in the field and neatly organized by topic, from spring prep to post-harvest. Order now!


Market Data provided by
Brought to you by Beyer