USDA Designates 21 North Dakota Counties as Natural Disaster Areas

February 29, 2016 03:11 PM
USDA Designates 21 North Dakota Counties as Natural Disaster Areas

USDA has designated 21 North Dakota counties as primary natural disaster areas due to recent damages and losses.

The first area designates Burke, Cavalier, Divide, Grand Forks, Nelson and Sheridan counties based on excessive heat, excessive rain, frost, excessive snow, drought, hail, flooding, high winds, lightning, weather-related insects and diseases since January 2015. The second area designates Billings, Eddy, Golden Valley, McKenzie, Ramsey, Stark and Williams counties based on freeze, frost, and drought from March-October 2015.

The third area designates Benson, Emmons, Golden Valley, Logan, McLean and Wells counties based on drought, excessive heat, high winds and hail from March-October 2015. The fourth area designates Burleigh and Walsh counties from excessive rain since April 2015.

Those in contiguous counties can also qualify for assistance.

Back to news



Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article

Corn College TV Education Series


Get nearly 8 hours of educational video with Farm Journal's top agronomists. Produced in the field and neatly organized by topic, from spring prep to post-harvest. Order now!


Market Data provided by
Brought to you by Beyer