USDA Releases List of Counties Eligible For Supplemental Coverage Option

August 27, 2014 06:58 AM

Latest maps cover corn, soybeans, rice, sorghum, cotton, and barley.

Little by little, farmers are getting the information they need to piece together their crop insurance coverage for the coming year. The USDA yesterday released the list of counties that will be eligible for the new Supplemental Coverage Option (SCO) for corn, soybeans, rice, sorghum, cotton, and barley. (You can see images of the maps here.)

Introduced as part of the Farm Bill, the SCO initiative is intended to provide an additional layer of financial protection beyond a farmer’s primary crop insurance policy when there are crop losses county-wide.

It takes effect with the 2015 crop year.

Along with the Agricultural Risk Coverage (ARC) and Price Loss Coverage (PLC), the SCO program is one of several efforts designed to help farmers manage their financial risk in the absence of direct payments. As farmers evaluate their options, they’ll need to consider what combination of coverage is the best for them; producers who choose the ARC option will not be eligible for the SCO program.

The agency has already released the list of SCO-eligible counties for wheat crops; the deadline for farmers to enroll in the program for their winter wheat is Sept. 30.


Back to news


Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article

Corn College TV Education Series


Get nearly 8 hours of educational video with Farm Journal's top agronomists. Produced in the field and neatly organized by topic, from spring prep to post-harvest. Order now!


Market Data provided by
Brought to you by Beyer