Virginia Counties Get Agricultural Disaster Declaration

January 7, 2016 04:00 PM
water drop

Four Virginia counties have received federal disaster designations for farmers stemming from flooding last fall.

The Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services said Thursday that the U.S. Department of Agriculture has issued primary disaster designations for Isle of Wight, Patrick, Southampton and Surry counties.

Nine counties and three cities that border those four counties also were designated as contiguous disaster areas.

The agency says heavy rains and flooding from Sept. 24 through Oct. 6 caused sufficient agricultural production losses.

The designation makes emergency loan assistance available to farmers from the USDA's Farm Service Agency. The loans will be offered for the next eight months.

Back to news



Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article

Corn College TV Education Series


Get nearly 8 hours of educational video with Farm Journal's top agronomists. Produced in the field and neatly organized by topic, from spring prep to post-harvest. Order now!


Market Data provided by
Brought to you by Beyer